I Got A Full Time Job!

This year is absolutely flying by… it’s hard to believe that in just seven months I will finished my undergraduate degree and graduating from Lakehead University! This realization didn’t really hit me until I started to apply at local accounting firms here in Thunder Bay… and I got a full time position starting in May! I will be a Junior Staff Accountant at one of our local firms, and I’m still in shock. With today’s economy and job prospects, getting a job (whether you have a degree or not) can take some time. I am blessed to be able to be in a program and an industry that hires you before you graduate.

It’s definitely a huge burden off of my shoulders! Accounting firms in town tend to weigh grades pretty heavily when hiring. I’ve been busting my butt to get good grades my last four years at Lakehead. Now that I’ve been hired, a long of that stress has been lifted off of me. That being said, of course I can’t just give up and not try hard anymore. My marks are still important to me and I am so glad to know that my hard work (finally!) paid off. But now some of that edge to get a certain level of marks is off me. I feel like I can breathe again and don’t have to stress as much over exams and marks!

The awesome part about my new job is not only that it’s directly in my field of study, but that they are also paying for me to continue my education. If you know anything about being a CPA (Chartered Professional Accountant), it’s a 30-month process of exams and practical experience, on top of an undergraduate degree. The exams can get very expensive, and I’ll likely actually be coming back to Lakehead University for a semester so that I can get ahead in the CPA path. The awesome part about this new job is that they are going to cover the costs of this – including costs of exams and student membership dues!

It’s truly a blessing and I feel so happy to have gotten this position. I can chalk getting this job not only to my marks, but also to my hard work and constant networking (which is often easy to do in Thunder Bay considering our small size)! I start in May… I feel like a “big girl” now!

Here’s my five biggest tips to landing a job after (or before!) graduation:

  • Network, network, network. This is important in all disciplines. The more people you know and the more connections you make, the more likely that one of those people could help you land a job! Almost all faculties are involved in our career fairs, and chatting with employers is a great way to get your name known.
  • Work hard. I’m not sure about other industries, but in business, a lot of entry-level applications will ask for your transcript and/or GPA. Obviously having a high GPA shows a degree of persistence and drive, making you look good!
  • Get to know your professors. I bet they know about a few open positions, and if you’re lucky they might even offer to be a reference on your resume!
  • Apply early. A lot of people say “I’m only going to apply after exams when I don’t have to worry about school.” Considering that’s likely what everyone else is doing too, employers are going to be swamped with resumes come May and June. Make yourself stand out by searching for positions early and applying. They will appreciate your initiative and you’ll likely be in a much smaller pool of applicants!
  • Apply to do co-op. A lot of co-ops lead to work after graduation. Make a good impression on your co-op organization and you could land a full time position there! PS – co-ops are paid too!

Leave a comment